107 Extraordinary High School Students Each Awarded $25,000 through 2021 Horatio Alger National Scholarship Program

For Immediate Release

February 4, 2021 


Carly Colombo 

[email protected]

107 Extraordinary High School Students Each Awarded $25,000 through 2021 Horatio Alger National Scholarship Program 

Horatio Alger Association awards more than $2.6 million annually through its National Scholarship Program 

WASHINGTON, D.C. (February 4, 2021) – Horatio Alger Association of Distinguished Americans, Inc., a nonprofit educational organization honoring the achievements of outstanding individuals and encouraging youth to pursue their dreams through higher education, today announced the 107 recipients of its prestigious 2021 Horatio Alger National Scholarship. These annual scholarships recognize outstanding students, who, in the face of great personal adversity, remain committed to obtaining a college degree.  

The Horatio Alger Association was established in 1947 to dispel the belief among young people that the American Dream was no longer attainable. Since the establishment of its scholarship programs in 1984, the Horatio Alger Association has become one of the largest privately-funded, need-based scholarship providers in the United States and Canada. Today, through its Members, the Association continues to educate American and Canadian students about the economic and personal opportunities afforded them through the two nations’ free-enterprise systems. The Association anticipates awarding a total of $235 million in scholarships to more than 35,000 deserving students by its 75th anniversary in 2022.  

“Our organization is thrilled to recognize these 107 remarkable Scholars,” said James F. Dicke II, president, Horatio Alger Association and 2015 Horatio Alger Award recipient. “These students have remained dedicated to furthering their education and giving back to their communities while overcoming many personal adversities, not to mention the additional challenges presented by the COVID-19 pandemic. The Association is proud to support these remarkable young people and we look forward to witnessing all they will achieve.”   

2021 Horatio Alger National Scholars are students who come from households with an average income of $18,871 per year while maintaining an average GPA of 3.88. Each National Scholarship recipient is awarded $25,000 to apply toward educational costs of the college or university of their choice and will have access to a variety of Association-provided resources including counseling and referral services, career exploration opportunities and Alumni connections. 

“Our 2021 National Scholars affirm the Association’s belief that hard work, honesty and determination can conquer all obstacles,” said Terrence J. Giroux, executive director, Horatio Alger Association. “Through our mission, we will continue to provide promising young people the resources, mentorship and confidence needed to be successful in whatever it is they choose to do.” 

In addition to the scholarship, each National Scholar will receive a trip to Washington, D.C. to attend the Horatio Alger National Scholars Conference (NSC) and participate in college preparedness and other educational sessions. There, Horatio Alger Scholars will have an opportunity to learn about the Association, its esteemed Members and the various support programs in which they can partake during their collegiate careers. In conjunction with the NSC, National Scholars will also be recognized at the Association’s 74th Horatio Alger Award Induction Ceremonies, during which the Association will induct the 2021 class of New Members who are all accomplished corporate, civic and cultural leaders. The Horatio Alger Scholarship Program is wholly funded through private donations from Association Members and friends.  

For a full list of Horatio Alger Association’s 2021 National Scholars, please click here. Follow the organization on FacebookTwitter and Instagram using the hashtag #HoratioAlgerScholar. 


About Horatio Alger Association of Distinguished Americans:  

Founded in 1947, the Horatio Alger Association of Distinguished Americans, Inc. is dedicated to the simple but powerful belief that hard work, honesty and determination can conquer all obstacles. The Association honors the achievements of outstanding leaders who have accomplished remarkable successes in spite of adversity by bestowing upon them the Horatio Alger Award and inducting them as lifetime Members. Horatio Alger Members support promising young people with the resources and confidence needed to overcome adversity in pursuit of their dreams through higher education. Through the generosity of its Members and friends, in 2020, the Association awarded more than $21 million in undergraduate and graduate need-based scholarships to 2,500 students across the United States and Canada, and provided college support and mentoring services to its Scholars. Since 1984, the Association has awarded more than $193 million in undergraduate, graduate, military veteran and career and technical education scholarships to more than 25,000 deserving students. For more information, please visit www.horatioalger.org

2021 Horatio Alger National Scholars  

Mahdi Ali-Raihan, Baraa Al-Jasim, Yakeleen Almazan, Travis Anane, Tahjeir Ayers, Alhassan Bangura, Maxwell Barrueta, Sophia Borgstahl, Jaden Bramelus, Victoria Bratsos, Bradley Bunch, Jian Ming Chen, Cody Chou, James Combs, Maysa Corya, Rebekah Craighton, Caroline Curran, Mia Dalphonse, Lisa Dang, Amaya Daniels, Lyric Darrah, Kianna Davis, Aaliyah Flowers, Carisia Garcia, Andrik Garcia, Jacqueline Garcia Rojas, Arsama Gebretsadik, Bilal Gilbert, Alexa Gilbert, Jack Gogal, Angelica Gonzalez, Kaylinn Gosney, Jenna Green, Alyssa Gregg, Jaeger Griswold, Cashlie Guthrie, Rebecca Hamzah, Makayla Harris, Julian Harris, Biak Hlawn, Lauren Hollis, Erica Hughes, Chibuzo Ibuoffor, Cristian Iraburo, Mia Irvin-Pollard, Ninah Jackson, Mariah Jimenez, Khaoula Kamal, Aliya Keaton, Ahmad Khalil, Simeon Klepac, Jessica Kruse, Rose Lane, Madelyn Laughlin, Eunice Lee, Jacob Lockman, Jasmine Mace, Sophia Manera, Whitley Manns, Charon Martinez, Mickey McCarey, Ryan McCarthy, Aalany McCatty, Molly McCommons, Ryan Menter, Michael Mills, Amear Moftah, Alexis Nguyen, Samara Nordby, Kennedy Odiboh, Trinity Olivier, Allaura Osborne, Belen Padilla, Joshua Park, Peter Parrish, Kishan Patel, Harsh Patel, Abigail Pence, Avery Perry, Evan Pietrusiewicz, Jacob Pogue, Corey Ragan, Garth Ragsdale, Tegan Retzer, Sunzia Reza, Allan Riedel-Morillo, Ian Rosado, Sebastian Sharma, Fardowso Shidad, Regan Sites, Jahnee Smith, Kynnedy Smith, Ana Soria, Fatima Sow, Paxson Swierc, Hailey Thorlakson, Sanjula Tomlinson, Damian Treviño, Julie Trinh, Sergio Tyndall-Garcia, Angel Vigil, Skyra Wade, Dylan Wagner, ReAnna Watson, Paige Williamson, Haylee Wing, Selihom Yosief