2014 Horatio Alger Association Members

Horatio Alger Association of Distinguished Americans, Inc. is pleased to announce the recipients of its prestigious 2014 Horatio Alger Award. This annual award recognizes exceptional leaders – all with a commitment to philanthropy and higher education – who have overcome significant personal challenges to achieve success.

“Horatio Alger Association is built on the key principle that with hard work, determination and resilience, one can succeed despite facing incomparable personal hardships,” said Tony Novelly, president and CEO, Horatio Alger Association and 2000 Horatio Alger Award recipient. “The 12 new Horatio Alger Members selected for the Class of 2014 are extraordinary individuals who reflect the truth of that principle and who will inspire our Scholars to pursue their dreams. We could not be more pleased to welcome this impressive class into the Association as lifetime Members. Undoubtedly, each will uphold and perpetuate the mission of this proud organization.”

Horatio Alger Members represent various fields, including science, medicine, business, athletics, politics and education, who share the commonality of succeeding despite facing adversity. Horatio Alger Association is proud to honor the following 12 individuals with lifetime membership into the Association.

Class of 2014

Lee AndersonDavid CoteMurray EdwardsRobert Blyth Goergen
Lee R. Anderson Sr.
Owner and Chairman
APi Group, Inc.
David M. Cote
Chairman and CEO
N. Murray Edwards
Canadian Natural Resources Limited
Robert Blyth Goergen
Founder and Chairman
Blyth, Inc.
Patricia Herbold
R.D. Hubbard
Mike Jackson
Jerral Jones
Patricia L. Herbold
Vice President and Secretary
Herbold Foundation;
Former U.S. Ambassador to the Republic of Singapore
Randall Dee Hubbard
Chairman and Managing Director
Mike Jackson
Chairman and CEO
AutoNation, Inc.
Jerral Wayne Jones Sr.
Owner, President and General Manager
Dallas Cowboys
Thomas V. McKernanDavid StewardPeter W. StottHAA Induction Ceremony
Thomas V. McKernan
Chairman of the Board
Automobile Club of Southern California
David L. Steward
Founder and Chairman
World Wide Technology, Inc.
Peter W. Stott
Columbia Investments, Ltd.
J. Ronald Terwilliger
Chairman Emeritus
Trammell Crow Residential Company

New Member Induction Ceremonies

Each Horatio Alger Award recipient will be inducted as a new Member during the Association’s 67th Annual Horatio Alger Awards Activities, a three-day induction ceremony. These events will be held in Washington, D.C. in April 2014, and new Members will join the nearly 200 other men and women of the Horatio Alger Association in celebration of their inauguration.

A variety of celebratory events will take place, including the Awards Induction Ceremony, where new Members are formally welcomed into the Association and presented with the Horatio Alger Award. Additionally, Members and Life Partners will also join the newest class of National Scholars for breakfast, providing an opportunity for the Members to become acquainted with the Association’s new Scholars.

Photos from the 66th Annual Horatio Alger Awards Activities in April 2013:

HAA Induction Ceremony HAA Induction Ceremony HAA Induction Ceremony